## **Judicial Merit Selection Commission**

Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Chairman Rep. Micajah P. "Micah" Caskey, IV, Vice-Chairman Sen. Ronnie A. Sabb Sen. Billy Garrett

Sen. Billy Garrett Rep. J. Todd Rutherford Rep. Wallace H. "Jay" Jordan, Jr. Hope Blackley Lucy Grey McIver Andrew N. Safran J.P. "Pete" Strom Jr.



Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel Kate Crater, Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6623

## MEDIA RELEASE

December 3, 2024

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates for the Court of Appeals, Circuit Court, Family Court, and the Administrative Law Court qualified and nominated at the public hearing held November 18-21, November 25-26, and December 2, 2024:

## **Court of Appeals**

Seat 2 The Honorable Kristi F. Curtis, Sumter, SC

Jason P. Luther, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Courtney Pope, Aiken, SC

Seat 3 The Honorable John D. Geathers, Ridgeway, SC

Seat 4 The Honorable Paula H. Thomas, Murrells Inlet, SC

Circuit Court

4<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 The Honorable Eugene P. Warr Jr., Lamar, SC

5<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 Ashley A. McMahan, Columbia, SC

**Christopher Dolan Taylor,** Columbia, SC **William K. Witherspoon,** Columbia, SC

7<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable J. Derham Cole Jr., Spartanburg, SC

9th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Deadra L. Jefferson, Charleston, SC

9<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2 Bryan A. Alfaro, Charleston, SC

**Thomas J. Rode,** Charleston, SC **R. Bruce Wallace,** Mt. Pleasant, SC

10<sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1 The Honorable Lawton McIntosh, Anderson, SC

11 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable David Shawn Graham, Lexington, SC Derrick E. Mobley, Gilbert, SC Christian Giresi Spradley, Batesburg-Leesville, SC
16 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	Melissa A. Inzerillo, Rock Hill, SC
At-Large, Seat 7	De Grant Gibbons, Aiken, SC William Vickery "Vick" Meetze, Marion, SC Jane H. Merrill, Greenwood, SC
At-Large, Seat 14	The Honorable R. Keith Kelly, Spartanburg, SC
At-Large, Seat 15	The Honorable Maite D. Murphy, North Charleston, SC
At-Large, Seat 16	Charles J. McCutchen, Orangeburg, SC
Family Court  1st Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Anne Guè Jones, Orangeburg, SC
2 <sup>nd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	Shannon M. Chandler, Graniteville, SC Amanda Frances Whittle, Aiken, SC
2 <sup>nd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Angela W. Abstance, Denmark, SC
3 <sup>rd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	William A. W. Buxton, Sumter, SC E. Thompson Kinney, Columbia, SC
3 <sup>rd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Angela R. Taylor, Sumter, SC
3 <sup>rd</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Ernest Joseph Jarrett, Kingstree, SC
4 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	C. Heath Ruffner, Cheraw, SC
5 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Michelle M. Hurley, Columbia, SC
5 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable M. Scott Rankin, Camden, SC
6 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Coreen B. Khoury, Lancaster, SC
7 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Angela J. Moss, Inman, SC
7 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable M. Todd Thigpen, Roebuck, SC
8 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Bryan C. Able, Laurens, SC Robert W. Cone, Greenwood, SC

James Conway	"Jim"	Todd	IV, Laurens,	SC

8 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Joseph C. Smithdeal, Greenwood, SC
9 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Alice Anne Richter, Mt. Pleasant, SC
9 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 4	<b>The Honorable Blakely Copeland Cahoon,</b> Summerville, SC
10 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable David J. Brousseau, Anderson, SC
10 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable M. Scott McElhannon, Anderson, SC
11th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable Huntley Smith Crouch, Lexington, SC
11 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 3	The Honorable Robert E. Newton, Lexington, SC
12 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Alicia Allsbrook Richardson, Britton's Neck, SC
12th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable FitzLee H. McEachin, Florence, SC
13th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	<b>The Honorable Rochelle Yarborough Conits,</b> Greenville, SC
13 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable W. Marsh Robertson, Greenville, SC
13 <sup>th</sup> Judicial Circuit, Seat 6	Jonathan D. Hammond, Greenville, SC Marcelo Torricos, Simpsonville, SC
14th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Gerald C. Smoak Jr., Walterboro, SC
15th Judicial Circuit, Seat 1	The Honorable Jan B. Bromell Holmes, Georgetown, SC
16th Judicial Circuit, Seat 2	The Honorable David G. Guyton, Rock Hill, SC
At-Large, Seat 1	The Honorable Kimaka "Kim" Nichols-Graham, Greenville, SC
At-Large, Seat 2	The Honorable Timothy E. Madden, Greenville, SC
At-Large, Seat 3	The Honorable James G. McGee III, Florence, SC
At-Large, Seat 4	The Honorable Monét Pincus, Columbia, SC
At-Large, Seat 5	The Honorable Randall E. McGee, St. Matthews, SC

At-Large, Seat 6 The Honorable David Earl Phillips, Williamston, SC

**Administrative Law Court** 

Seat 2 Kristian Cross, Columbia, SC

The Honorable Bryan S. Jeffries, West Columbia, SC

Samuel L. Johnson, West Columbia, SC

Seat 3 The Honorable Robert L. Reibold, Columbia, SC

The Judicial Merit Selection Commission found the following judicial candidates for Masters-in-Equity and Active/Retired qualified at the public hearing held December 2, 2024:

**Masters-in-Equity** 

**Abbeville County** The Honorable Roy R. Hemphill, Greenwood, SC

Aiken County The Honorable M. Anderson Griffith, Aiken, SC

Beaufort County James J. Wegmann, Beaufort, SC

Berkeley County J. Camden West, Moncks Corner, SC

Georgetown County The Honorable Joe M. Crosby, Pawleys Island, SC

Kershaw County The Honorable William B. Cox Jr., Camden, SC

Lee County James Patterson Saverance Jr., Bishopville, SC

**Lexington County** The Honorable James Otto Spence, Lexington, SC

**Richland County** Stephanie N. Lawrence, Columbia, SC

Ian D. McVey, Columbia, SC

Active/Retired

Circuit Court The Honorable Donald Bruce Hocker, Laurens, SC

Family Court The Honorable Timothy H. Pogue, Marion, SC

As a reminder, the record remains open until the final report is issued at 12:00 Noon, Tuesday, January 21, 2025. Accordingly, judicial candidates are not free to seek or accept commitments until that time.

The election is currently scheduled for Noon on Wednesday, February 5, 2025.

Correspondence and questions should be directed to the Judicial Merit Selection Commission as follows: Erin B. Crawford, Chief Counsel, <a href="mailto:erincrawford@scsenate.gov">erincrawford@scsenate.gov</a>, (803) 212-6689, or Lindi Putnam, JMSC Administrative Assistant, <a href="mailto:lindiputnam@scsenate.gov">lindiputnam@scsenate.gov</a>, (803) 212-6623.